# MINUTES OF VIRTUAL / CONFERENCE CALL MEETING RED RIVER JOINT WATER RESOURCE DISTRICT EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE ORIGINATING AT THE WEST FARGO PUBLIC WORKS BUILDING 810 12TH AVENUE NW, WEST FARGO, NORTH DAKOTA JANUARY 10, 2024 11:00 A.M.

A virtual / conference call meeting of the Red River Joint Water Resource District Executive Committee was held on January 10, 2024, at 11:00 a.m.

Present were Josh Ihry, Steele County Water Resource District; Keith Weston, Southeast Cass Water Resource District; Ben Varnson, Nelson County Water Resource District; Don Kemp, Pembina County Water Resource District; Gary Thompson, Traill County Water Resource District; Tom Perdue, Grand Forks County Water Resource District (Sr. Alternate); Melissa Hinkemeyer, Secretary-Treasurer; Carolyn Fiechtner, Administrative Assistant; Sean M. Fredricks, Ohnstad Twichell, P.C.; Randy Gjestvang, North Dakota Department of Water Resources (NDDWR); Lyndon Pease, Moore Engineering, Inc.; and Mike Opat, Houston Engineering, Inc.

## **2024 Elections and Appointments**

It was moved by Manager Thompson, seconded by Manager Weston, and unanimously carried to elect the following positions and to designate the principal office for calendar year 2024 as follows:

#### Officers

Chair: Josh Ihry

Vice-Chair: Keith Weston

• Secretary-Treasurer: Melissa Hinkemeyer

## **Principal Office**

The Cass County Highway Department, 1201 Main Avenue West, West Fargo, North Dakota.

Upon roll call vote, the motion carried unanimously.

It was moved by Manager Thompson, seconded by Manager Weston and unanimously carried to approve the following RRJWRD appointments for calendar year 2024:

North Dakota Water Coalition:

Voting Member: Gary Thompson

• Alternate: Josh Ihry

# North Dakota Water Coalition, Funding Subcommittee

- Voting Member: Gary Thompson
- Alternate: Keith Weston

## Red River Retention Authority:

- Three Voting Members: Josh Ihry, Ben Varnson, and Rodger Olson
- Alternates: Don Kemp and Gary Thompson

#### Red River Basin Commission:

- Two Voting Members: Keith Weston and Ben Varnson
- Alternates: Gary Thompson and Josh Ihry

#### International Water Institute Board of Directors:

- Keith Weston
- Alternate: Tom Perdue

## BTSAC - Basin Technical and Scientific Advisory Committee:

Randy Gjestvang, Mike Opat, Mike Bassingthwaite, and Kurt Lysne

## Lower Red River Regional Detention Analysis Committee:

 Don Kemp, Keith Weston, Randy Gjestvang, Zach Herrmann, Josh Hassell, and Mike Bassingthwaite

## North Dakota Water Resource Districts Association:

Josh Ihry and Gary Thompson

#### North Dakota Water Users Board of Directors

Sean M. Fredricks, Kurt Lysne, and Tom Perdue

#### North Dakota Water Users Board of Directors and Executive Committee

Arv Burvee

## North Dakota NRCS Technical Committee:

Keith Weston and Ben Varnson

## Legal Counsel

Sean M. Fredricks

## Additional Engineering Consultants

- Moore Engineering, Inc.
- Interstate Engineering, Inc.
- Houston Engineering, Inc.
- Pribula Engineering

Upon roll call vote, the motion carried unanimously.

# **Approval of Agenda**

It was moved by Manager Weston, seconded by Manager Thompson and unanimously carried to approve the agenda, as presented.

## **Minutes**

It was moved by Manager Kemp, seconded by Manager Varnson and unanimously carried to approve the minutes of the November 8, 2023, meeting.

## **Treasurer's Report**

Manager Varnson moved to approve the Financial Report, the following depositories of RRJWRD public funds, the following RRJWRD *Pledges of Assets* and the payment of the wire transfers, as presented:

## Depositories of RRJWRD public funds

- The Goose River Bank (Bank of North Dakota)
- Bremer Bank, N.A. Fargo
- Bremer Bank, N.A. Lisbon
- Bell Bank
- Alerus Financial
- Dakota Heritage Bank Hillsboro
- Stock Growers Bank Forman
- Choice Bank Grafton
- United Valley Bank Cavalier

## RRJWRD Pledges of Assets

- Alerus Financial, as per agreement executed April 20, 2012
- Bell Bank FHLB Letter of Credits dated November 10, 2022
- Bell Bank FHLB Letter of Credit dated May 16, 2023
- Bell Bank FHLB Letter of Credit dated May 22, 2023
- Federal Home Loan Bank of Des Moines (Bremer) Letter of Credit dated December 22, 2023
- The Goose River Bank (Bank of North Dakota) \$6,530,000
- Stock Growers Bank Forman \$115,000
- Choice Bank Grafton, as per agreement dated September 12, 2023

Manager Weston seconded the motion. Upon roll call vote, the motion carried unanimously.

# **Next Meeting**

The next meeting of the RRJWRD Executive Committee is scheduled for March 13, 2024, at 9:30 a.m. at the Cass County Highway Department.

<u>Adjournment</u>					
There being no further	r business to be	considered	by the Board,	the meeting	adjourned
without objection.					

·	APPROVED:	
	Josh Ihry Chairman	
ATTEST:		
Melissa Hinkemeyer Secretary-Treasurer		